In a display of multilateral bonhomie, the Quad alliance — India, US, Japan and Australia —have held its first-ever leaders’ summit with an aim to counter China’s growing influence in the Indo-Pacific region.

Quadrilateral Security Dialogue: A Backgrounder

Quadrilateral Security Dialogue or the Quad is an informal strategic forum between the United States, Japan, India and Australia that is maintained by semi-regular summits, information exchanges and military drills between member countries.

Economic alliance not feasible

Overt emphasis on Maritime domain

Lack of existence of Indo-Pacific system

Indian borders can go more vulnerable

Challenges: China will retaliate:

China’s assertiveness

Preying small nations

Chinese monopoly

Way Forward: